Our team

In 2015 we changed our status from an unincorporated club and re-formed as a LBG company, with a Board of Directors taking responsibility for the overall strategic direction, corporate responsibility and governance of the Club. The day to day running of club activities continues to be overseen is by the Club Committee, which is chaired by the president, Alex Margison.

Both the Board and Committee are elected by Club members at our Annual General Meeting.

2023 AGM Reports

2023 AGM Minutes

Board of Directors

The  Board meets at least quarterly, and their contact details can be found below: 

Richard Saunders (Independent Chair)


Richard has oversight of the Board as Independent Chair and brings a wealth of corporate governance experience to the role. Although he has now hung up his mountain bike wheels, Richard still puts in appearances at road and time trial races.

Alex Margison (President)


Alex was elected President in 2021, having previously acted as Treasurer since 2015. A regular at our road events, he is a qualified Level 2 Road coach but also keeps himself busy in the winter by regularly falling off his cyclocross bike. 

Adrian Tourtel (Treasurer)


Adrian was elected as Treasurer in 2022, having previously been our Flyers and Junior Academy co-ordinator. A Level 2 coach, Adrian keeps involved in our Academy by leading our junior MTB training rides throughout the winter and co-ordinating travel to off-island races.

James Duguid


James joined the Board in 2021 and is the Club’s Safety Officer and a L2 coach. A mountain biker at heart, his self-confessed fear of missing out means he’s at every road and cyclocross race as well.

Phil Reid


Phil has been a Director since 2023, and also acts as Club Secretary. Previously responsible for kit orders, Phil is always impeccably dressed when out and about on his road bike.


Members of the Committee can be found at all our events, and their contact details can be found below:

Alex Margison (President)


Phil Reid (Secretary)


Lisa Eyre (Welfare Officer)


Paul de Garis (Cycling Development Officer) – Cyclocross sub-committee, Flyers & Academy subcommittee


Frankie Middleton – Flyers & academy sub-committee

Steve James – MTB sub-committee

Matt Osborn – Road sub-committee


Paul de Garis – British Cycling L2 CC, L2 MTB and L2 Cyclocross Coach

Paul, the island’s Cycling Development Officer, heads up our coaching team. If you have any questions or comments about our coaching sessions, please contact him in the first instance at paul@gvc.gg. Details of our coaching sessions can be found in our Club calendar.

The rest of our coaching team is made up of volunteers who have attended British Cycling courses, which means they also hold first aid certificates, enhanced Disclosure and Barring Service certificates, and have undertaken child protection and risk assessment training.

Alex Margison – L2 CC & L2 Road Coach

Mark Smith – L2 CC

James Duguid – L2 CC

Adrian Tourtel – L2 CC

Ben Snook – L1 CC

Rob Randell – L1 CC

Phil Eyre – L1 CC

Simon Francart – L1 CC

Frankie Middleton – L1 CC

Mark Naftel - L1 CC

Adie Marsh – L1 CC

Ed Rocha – L1 CC